for ensemble and orchestra

Duration: 20'

Ensemble: bass) Orchestra: (minus contrabass)

World Premiere
11/1/2018 Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles, CA Los Angeles Philharmonic / Susanna Mälkki

Composer Notes

Music for Ensemble and Orchestra is an extension of the Baroque Concerto Grosso where there is more than one soloist. Here there are 20 soloists—all regular members of the orchestra, including the first stand strings and winds, as well as two vibraphones and two pianos. The piece is in five movements, though the tempo never changes, only the note value of the constant pulse in the pianos. Thus, an arch form: sixteenths, eighths, quarters, eighths, sixteenths. Music for Ensemble and Orchestra is modeled on my Runner of 2016 which has the same five movement form.